Artists: Various, Mixed by Mr C
Title: Sounds Like Alola – Volume 3
Label: Alola
Cat. #: ALOD003
Format: Digital
Release Date: May 27th 2013
01. Omid 16B – Secrets (Original Mix)
02. Omid 16B – Home (Original Mix)
03. Omid 16B – As We Sleep (Original Mix)
04. NAV – Space Chase (House Mix)
05. Eli Nissan – Uplifting Blues (House Mix)
06. YMC – Endless Road (Original Mix)
07. House Of 909 – The Blandford Superfly (Original Mix)
08. OTC – The Dragon Lady (Original Mix)
09. YMC – Jazzmatic (Original Mix)
10. 16B – Why? (Original Mix)
11. Pete Moss – Right On (Original Mix)
12. Mr C – Dizzy Spell (Original Mix)
13. Mr C – Dizzy Spell (Reprise)
14. Mr C – Time Design The Dragon (Original Mix)
15. Vince Watson – Mystical Rhythm (Mr C Mix)
16. Mr C – Click (Original Mix)
17. YMC – Tears (Original Mix)

To celebrate 20 years in the music business, Omid 16B and his Alola label are releasing some superb and highly collectable music from the vaults, available for the first time in digital format for a new generation.

The re-mastered back catalogue will be available for the first time at all digital stores, alongside the label’s latest releases. This is a process that started two years ago when the first two instalments of Alola’s past, present and future were carefully handpicked and mixed to perfection by Omid 16B and Demi. Now, Mr C (who was the honoured guest at the first 20 Years Of Alola party in London recently) presents his favourite label selections.

“Alola was a seminal deep house label that broke down the divisions between house & techno with a depth that was and still is extremely hard to parallel.” – Mr C

“Mr C was one of my mentors who introduced me to Ibiza back in in ‘99, we did the first DJ Mag ‘Face Off’ CD together, where we played a DJ set back-to-back and since then we’ve been of best friends. I signed Mr C to both Alola and SexOnWax, which led to some great singles and EPs together. I’ve always loved the fact that he has such a wide musical range and is totally from the old school but keeps pushing fresh new music with his unique vinyl only style mixing. That’s why it was an honour for us to have such a master select and mix his favourite tracks from Alola’s history on vinyl and he did it all LIVE to captures the true vibe.”Omid 16B

At a carefully considered, steady rate, the precious Alola 12” vinyl back catalogue is in the process of being re-mastered and introduced to the digital world, alongside new material from the label. It would be pointless to just throw it all out at once – this is music to be savoured! In a disposable world this is timeless music to be treasured for a long, long time.

Omid’s desire to present so many years of music in a coherent way led to the decision to release a series of mix compilations, combining forgotten back catalogue classics with unreleased material by Alola artists, to add something fresh to the whole concept. Omid has approached some of his favourite DJs who have had some affiliation with the label and some who were part of the label, to contribute. Now, Mr C provides the next in a series of glimpses into the label’s historic brilliance.

Check for further information about all Alola releases.

“Alola was one of THE labels for me… such a consistently high quality of music and a great roster of artists. I still have them all on vinyl – nice to see you back again!!”Danny Howells

“Alola was one the finest house music labels coming from the United Kingdom in the past decade. High quality underground music on every release; Vince Watson -Mystical Rhythm is one of my favourites from many, many, great records.”Hernan Cattaneo

 “The list of DJs carrying Alola vinyl around the world encompassed everyone and anyone who ever professed to having a decent taste in music. Long live Alola!” Lee Burridge

Leave a comment