Dawn Mok ‘Eternal Love’

 •  0


DIALCD34_COVERArtist: Dawn Mok
Title: Eternal Love
Label: DIAL
Cat. #: DIAL CD/LP 34
Release Date: 27-11-2015
01. Untitled
02. Downpour
03. What We Came to Be
04. You Ended up Being All I Know
05. Like Thoughts or Moments We’ll Fall
06. Fade
07. (interlude I)
08. End
09. Daze
10. Fade Town, You’re My Evidence
11. Still with You
12. (interlude II)
13. (interlude III)
14. Time
15. (hidden track)

Following an introduction to the label via their contribution to the 15 year anniversary compilation earlier in the year, Berlin collective Dawn Mok will release their debut album ‘Eternal Love’ on Dial Records in November.

Dawn Mok producer and founder Felix Mura describes the Berlin-based group as an ‘open collective’ with roots in the German capital, Seoul, Virginia, Bangkok and California. Further current core members in addition to Mura are vocalist Bundi and classically trained pianist Kathy Kwon – the former provides Eternal Love’s vocals, while Kwon will be contributing keys and vocals to a future project. Both were involved in the process of producing this first LP, which follows an enthusiastic response to ‘Like Thoughts or Moments We’ll Fall’, the closing track of Dial’s ‘All’ compilation released in June 2015. The RnB-inflected production was picked out by many as a high point of the collection, and teased what follows in Eternal Love’s journey into deep and dark shades beyond the genre.

Produced over the course of a year, mixed with Ville Haimala aka Renaissance Man, mastered by PAN’s Rashad Becker, and with artwork by Dan DeNorch, the album is primarily the product of the combination of producer Mura and vocalist Bundi:

“While coming from an entirely different background, in this album working with the vocals of Bundi – who is much inspired by artists ranging from Prince and D’Angelo to old and new generations of RnB music – I’ve somewhat acquired a production method of elimination. I’ve tried to sift through rhythmic and tonal relationships, and shape the sounds to end up with re-contextualized musical and sonic references. Not with the aim of re-approaching them, but to employ the (often just emotional) connotations of each chosen element as part of the songwriting itself, thus ending up with something I felt was formally interconnecting with many moments of music history, but not indulging in formulaic approaches.”


Leave a comment