Ben Hoo “Collected”

 •  2


Artist: Ben Hoo
Title: Collected
Label: Kindisch
Cat. #: kdda005
Format: Digital
Release Date: June 5th 2013
01. Marea
02. Run Of Sevens
03. Night Light
04. Modal
05. Jasemine
06. Cetacea
07. Duplex
08. Maledictum
09. Nightscape
10. Right Kind Of Rain
11. Paper Juliet
12. Collected

If there has been a theme running throughout London producer Ben Hoo’s career to date, it’s that he’s never wedded himself to a single style. Techno and house inform his recorded music as much as down-tempo and contemporary classical. From a production perspective, Ben is drawn towards sound manipulation and design. His approach is steeped in audio reconfiguration, which he offsets by creating his own rich synthetic tones.

The most substantial example of Ben Hoo’s sonic explorations to date has arrived with ‘Collected’, a 12-track compilation bringing together original Ben Hoo material from previous EPs ‘Marea’ and ‘Modal’, alongside new and exclusive tracks.

‘Collected’ is not a typical artist album, and it’s fair to say that Ben Hoo’s rise to prominence has been far from typical. How many young producers could say they’d remixed Fever Ray, Moby, M.A.N.D.Y. & Booka Shade and Tiga before even releasing a solo single? It takes true creative flair to carve out a career solely by interpreting the work of others – and London’s Ben Hoo has done just that. His subsequent EPs for Kindisch showed his enormous potential as a solo artist, and ‘Collected’ will establish Hoo’s place among electronic music’s most promising new talents.

Leave a comment