Oliver Schories ‘Herzensangelegenheit’

 •  0


Artist: Oliver SchoriesPARQUETCD005
Title: Herzensangelegenheit
Label: Parquet Recordings
Cat. #: Parquetcd005

: Novamd / Digdis

01 Mother
02 I’m Not
03 Sunday
04 So Much
05 Coffee Break
06 Trust Me
07 Monday
08 Janna
09 Believe
10 Amsterdam
11 Just 5 Stems
12 Saturday
13 One More Dance, Jules

Oliver Schories — Germany’s prolific young producer of heartfelt techno has garnered quite an army of followers over the last two years, fueled by a charismatic synergy with his fans and a string of successful EPs for underground dance labels like Kollektiv Turmstrasse’s Musik Gewinnt Freunde, Ostwind Recordings and Parquet Recordings. The year 2011 was a particularly busy one for Oliver, who produced and released over thirty original tracks, plus remixes for AKA AKA and Gui Boratto, and brought his melancholic, uplifting, and energetic DJ sets in front of a spellbound international audience for the first time. 2012 shows no signs of slowing down for Schories, as he prepares to release his debut album Herzensangelegenheit – meaning ‘matters of the heart’ – on Parquet Recordings in late March.

Whether it’s behind the turntables or in the studio, Oliver fancies versatile techno infused tracks with plenty of room for deeper elements. His style is warm and subtle, but at the same time quite dynamic and dancefloor oriented. This is music deeply rooted in minimal techno and richly colored with tones, textures and atmospherics. Herzensangelegenheit showcases Oliver’s most diverse collection of productions yet, often treading into darker, more technoid territory, like on the album tracks “Trust Me” and “Believe”. Distinguishing Oliver’s productions from the rest of the pack is his exceptional ear for melodic arrangement. Musically speaking, tracks like “Mother” and “Amsterdam” evoke memories of Röyksopp’s classic LP ‘The Understanding’. The tender, twinkling keys heard throughout the album that flirt with a kind of pop sensibility, most notably on “I’m Not” and “Janna” would feel right at home on Oliver Koletzki’s Stil Vor Talent imprint. On the album closer “One more Dance, Jules”, Schories gives us a hands-in-the-air kind of techno anthem that will surely make its way into the DJ trolleys of his A-list admirers, Silicone Soul, Nick Warren, Hernan Cattaneo and Ida Engberg. ‘Herzensangelegenheit’ establishes Schories as much more than just another new face in the techno circus, chipping away at the icy exterior of greatness for his 15 minutes in the spotlight – but as a driving creative force to be reckoned with!

Founded in 2006 by Normen Flaskamp aka Solee, Germany’s Parquet Recordings has built a solid reputation around the world with its intelligent yet accessible blend of lush deep house, groovy tech house and melodic techno with progressive elements. Boasting a rich discography of records by John Tejada, Rodriguez Jr, Noir, H.O.S.H., Chelonis R Jones, Gui Boratto, Pig&Dan and James Teej among others, Parquet Recordings is the perfect home for Schories’ vibrant and emotional album.


Leave a comment