Shifted ‘Crossed Paths’

 •  0


Artist: ShiftedMoteCD001
Title: Crossed Paths
Label: Mote-Evolver
Cat. #: MoteCD001/LP01
Format: CD
Release Date: April 2nd, 2012
Distribution: N.E.W.S. Distribution
01. Yearning
02. Out Of Tune
03. Bleeding Through
04. Coax
05. Leather
06. Colour Of The Fall
07. Suffocate
08. Relict
09. Lexis
10. More Static (Reduction)
11. Disconnected

A1: Bleeding Through
A2: Out of Tune
B1: Leather
B2: Colour of the Fall
C1: Suffocate
C2: Relict
D1: Lexis
D2: More Static

Shifted’s ‘Crossed Paths’ is a record which pushes the formal possibilities of techno. ‘Crossed Paths’ is the first full length work to be released on Mote-Evolver and the scope of the album format takes Shifted’s vision to the next level. Shifted furthers his exploration into ominous resonances which he began in 2011 on Mote-Evolver by the ‘Control EP’, a vinyl that seamlessly housed the unabashed peak-time ‘Control’ and the spatial ‘Structure’. On ‘Crossed Paths’ the breadth of Shifted’s ideas is both subtle and devastating. As a producer Shifted’s methodology is like that of a sculptor, he works principally with textures knowing precisely when to leave edges raw and fault lines exposed. ‘Crossed Paths’ is constructed of 11 ominous cuts carved with precision and poise.

The identity of the man behind the Shifted moniker is shrouded in question marks and his album opens just as mysteriously with the fearlessly oblique ‘Yearning’.

Setting out an ambitious internal architecture, ‘Yearning’ expands and contracts creating a sense of euphoric menace. This atmosphere pervades, crystallising in the strange swelling loops on ‘Coax’ and the stunning pads of ‘Colour Of The Fall’. Shifted creates hypnotic and persistent music that’s perfect for the confusion of the afterhours. He refuses to stick to polarised ideas of tracks falling neatly into the categories ‘dance floor’ or ‘ambient’. Shifted toys with the norm.

‘Bleeding Through’ is a case in point: it imperceptibly veers from one territory to another with far-off ringing and torn wooden fragments invading an almost industrial landscape. Equally ‘Lexis’ is flooded with urgency as sharp, angular corners are created by bleeps which cut into the track’s icy exterior.

However, ‘Crossed Paths’ has no shortage of ideas to devastate big club rigs. ‘Leather’ is fully loaded techno with a disorienting top line spurting and sparking over grinding bass. On ‘Suffocate’ the deviant tones persists constructed out of the friction between a swung undercarriage and rock hard beats. ‘More Static’ pushes deep only to be fractured by clanging metal and sinister wisps of conversation. The record closes with the glacial ‘Disconnected’, a track that is perfectly in harmony with the album’s haunting, greyscale artwork. Having travelled the length and breadth of techno’s possibilities the final track brings unity to the release, suspending the listener once again in the abstract dimension where ‘Crossed Paths’ began.
Shifted envelops the listener in a subtle world of form and variation. ‘Crossed Paths’ sets out to further techno’s remit and situates itself precisely where electronic music deviates from expectations.

Shifted skilfully creates an album in which no sound is over-produced, it’s a record where textures interact with each other on their own terms and the result is deep, atmospheric and ultimately, something new.


Leave a comment