The Draughtsman ‘1694EP’

 •  0


Artist: The DraughtsmanMKG018
Title: 1694EP
Label: Marketing Records
Format: Digital
Cat. #: MKG018
Release Date: November 15th 2012
Distribution: Beatport & Believe Music
1 Frame I (An English Garden)
2 Geschmacklos
3 Vertical
4 Frame II (The Watching Statue)
5 Codicil
6 Frame III (Soft Geometry)
7 Geschmacklos (Cosmo Vitelli Remix)
8 Vertical (Tim Paris Remix)
9 Codicil (Roman Flügel Remix)

If the formula of a good record lies in its longevity then we can safely say the ‘1964 EP’ from The Draughtsman has already proven it – even before release. It’s an EP that will also continue to prove it in years to come. Alex Egan got in touch with Marketing in November 2010 with the seeds of an exciting new project and since then we have never stopped working on bringing it to life. In the past two years these tracks have been listened to and experienced over and over again. They just get better each time. Time is also at the centre of The Draughtsman’s music. It shifts genre and references a variety of different periods of musical history: there’s the initial inspiration for the project – which is easy to discover if you seek it – an ambitious cinematic vision released in 1982 yet set in baroque 1694. But skip ahead and closer to us for these 5 original tunes from Alex reveal the width and depth of his musical knowledge as the record explores almost all those modern genres we love to advocate at Marketing Music: from Disco to New-Wave and Electronica, House, Italo and Techno… Eventually a unbelievable string of remixers graced the EP with contributions that further deepen its spectrum of styles: Cosmo Vitelli’s Indie remake of ‘Geschmacklos’, Tim Paris’ 90’s Detroit-Techno take on ‘Vertical’ and a peerless Deep-Techno interpretation by Roman Flügel. This is undoubtedly the most ambitious project of the label to date, set widely across history and genre. True timeless music!


Leave a comment