GPMDA053_resizedArtist: Various
Title: DJ T. Presents The House That Jack Built – Pt. 1
Label: Get Physical
Remixers: DJ T, Mark Ashken, Jones & James, DJ Naughty
Cat. #: GPMDA053
Format: Digital
Release Date: September 2012

01. E.S.P. – It’s You (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
02. Levon Vincent – Love Technique
03. Schatrax – Mispent Years (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
04. The House Master Boyz & The Rude Boy Of House – House Nation (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
05. Traffic Signs – I Like Your Booty (Marc Ashken & DJ T. Re-Edit)
06. Solomun & Jackmate – Carnivale
07. Jamie Jones – Summertime (Jones & James Dub Mix) (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
08. DJ T. – High feat. Nick Maurer (DJ T.’s Stripped Down Re-Work)
09. DJ Linus – KB’s Groove (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
10. Damian Uzabiaga & Sishi Rosch – Work That Body
11. Stella – Extralife (DJ Naughty Rmx) (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
12. Jean Le Phunk – Fine & Fancy feat. Sexton
13. Mr. Fingers – Washing Machine (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
14. Samim – House Nation
15. Brett Johnson – These Ghosts (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
16. Luna City Express – Mr. Jack
17. Raiders of the Lost ARP – Hold On (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
18. Philip Bader – For You
19. Jesse Rose – A-Sided (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
20. CJ Jeff & T. Triantafillou – Got To Be
21. Pleasure Zone – Fantasy (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
22. Migumatix – My House / Your House
23. Troy Pierce – The Day After Tomorrow (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
24. Audiojack – Kicks For Kicks
25. LOPAZZ – Live In Brazil (DJ T. Remix)
26. Soulphiction – Freerotation I
27. Adonis – Rockin’ Down The House (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
28. D. Ramirez & Matt Tolfrey – Bounce For Me
29. Anibert – The Thing I Want (P. Lauer’s Leion Acid Edit) (DJ T.’s 2012 Edit)
30. Rodriguez Jr. – Offshore

In the digital age, the compilation has lost much of its former glory. Not too long ago it was an indispensable format for the music-lover. Brilliantly compiled and telling a special story, the compilation was a significant gain as a particularly successful artist album.

In recent times, the compilation has been cheapened with generic ’Ibiza’ and ’Miami’ labelling as the genre compilation all but disappeared from the scene.

This brought DJ T. to the idea, to create a homage to this nearly extinct format. Late 2011 he brought ‘UNITED UNDER THE BALL – 30 YEARS OF DISCO’ to Get Physical. ‘Disco’ as the theme for the first volume of the series not only fulfilled a long cherished desire of DJ T., but was also a highly visible counterpoint to the ubiquitous, mostly House and Techno-stocked season- and theme compilations.

The success exceeded all expectations, and proved that a purely digital compilation still finds many friends, satisfying even the most absolute music fans with some ‘hidden gems’ to be discovered while ingeniously opening the door to a tasteful new musical direction.

Months of work have been invested in the follow up, with ‘Jacking House’ as it’s central theme, titled ‘THE HOUSE THAT JACK BUILT’. The second volume of the compilation series is to be released in two parts, each containing 30 tracks. Like it’s predecessor, DJ T. spins a thread from the time of origin of the genre in a mid 80’s-Chicago to contemporary definitions of that particular groove-feeling in the here and now.

The tireless Licensing Department of Get Physical has been far more successful this time in winning the old, (until now digitally unavailable) classics of the genre. Instead of only four, DJ T. presents 35 (!) exclusive hand edits, re-works and remixes of some of the most coveted classics that built House music as we know it today.


Leave a comment