Various ‘GoGo Get Down’

 •  0


Artist: VariousZeddCD025
Title: GoGo Get Down
Compiled by: Joey Negro
Label: Z Records
Cat. # ZedCd025

Release Date: 07th May 2012
Format: Double CD
1. Little Benny & The Masters – Who Comes To Boogie
2. Chuck Brown & The Soul Searchers – Back It On Up
3. Donald Banks – Status-Quo
4. Rare Essence – Body Moves
5. Trouble Funk – Get Down With Your Get Down
6. Experience Unlimited – Rock Yer Butt
7. Expression – Release
8. Davis Pinckney Project – You Can Dance (If You Want To)
9. Osiris – War (On The Bull Shit!)
10. Static Disruptors – DC Groove
11. Familiar Faces – The New Dance
12. Jackie Boy & Nature’s Creation – This Groove Was Made For Funkin’
13. Class Band – Welcome To The Go-Go

GoGo Get Down is the latest compilation from Dave Lee aka Joey Negro to be released on the Z Records label. A mammoth and rare retrospective of Washington DC’s spectrum of Ghetto Funk, this collection showcases the visionary side of the GoGo scene while bringing its key artists the modern exposure they deserve.

Joey Negro gives us an insight into the vintage rhythms and chiming cowbells as well as the dedicated soul screams that pierce through the retro soul rhythm that gives GoGo its distinctive sound.

“As someone who has more or less made a career out of being a music lover, it’s a great buzz to put together and release albums of these semi-forgotten genres like GoGo or our recent Brit Funk compilation. Many of the tracks included on this album are ultra obscure local-only releases which I’ve picked up over my years of digging. Seeing a project like this through from the initial concept to the final product is quite a task at Z HQ and at points you can’t help but wish you’d never started the damn thing 😉

However, all of the graft is forgotten once the finished release arrives and you’re listening to those bumpy DC grooves in all their re‐mastered glory” Dave Lee aka Joey Negro

Developed first by jazz guitarist and singer Chuck Brown (whose group the Soul Searchers were at the top of D.C.’s scene), GoGo is characterized by its laidback but dynamic funk rhythms accented with loose conga beats, freaky keyboard leads, and strong, emotional brass arrangements. It’s also been a staple of the mid‐Atlantic scene for the past 35 years.

From remarkably full‐on, joyous grooves this unique collection aims to celebrate the potent yet smooth GoGo sound, with its well represented roots flirting through a framework of lightly layered keys and horns. GoGo Get Down is a high quality and deep snapshot of this highly regional Washington D.C. brand of funk featuring delights from the likes of the Godfather of GoGo, Chuck Brown, Trouble Funk, Rare Essence, Experience Unlimited, and many more forgotten classics…


Leave a comment