Various ‘Vagabundos 2013’

 •  1


Artist: Various
Title: Vagabundos 2013
Mixed by: Argy & Andrea Oliva
Label: Cadenza
Cat. #: CADCD11

CD01 – Mixed by Argy
1. Plastikman – Koma
2. Nathan Baratto – Hard Werq
3. YMC – Man In The Green Shirt
4. Per Hammar – 8 Track
5. Andrade – Dancing (Quell “Grind” Mix)
6. Bjorn Wolf & Youri Donatz feat Mike Dunn – Iz Diz Houz / DJ Sneak – Wickedy Sounds (Andrea Oliva Mix)
7. Sante – Spotlight / DJ Jesus – Yes Come On
8. Radio Slave – Mood
9. The Deepshakerz – Never Say / Butch – Oh Manaha Shiva
10. Jordan Peak – It’s Time (Argy Rude Dub)
11. Jay Lumen – Raw Basses
12. Technasia – Sunkiss
13. Christian Smith – NYC
14. Coyu – Techno Raw / Boys Noize – Trooper (Robert Hood Remix)
15. Marc Romboy VS Kink – Over and Out (Instrumental Mix) / Argy – What Time Is It? (Acapella)
16. Argy – I’m In
17. Argy – Thick & Thin
18. June – Lost Area (DJ Sprinkles’ Empty Dancefloor)
19. Harmony Funk – Happy Feelings

CD02 – Mixed by Andrea Oliva
1. Shlomi Aber – Foolish Games feat. Moggli
2. Nick Curly – Underground (Original Mix)
3. Franck Roger – When You Touch
4. Dan Ghenacia – Da Doo Da
5. House Of Gypsies – Ways Of My Life
6. Andrea Oliva & Egal 3 – Those Bangers
7. Kodac – The Night Train (Julian Perex Remix)
8. Loco Dice – Detox
9. Waff – Jo Johnson
10. Mark Henning – You’re Digging Into Me
11. Kink – Express
12. George Fitzgerald – Needs You (Deetron Remix)
13. Luciano – Rise Of Angel (Andrea Oliva Remix)
14. DJ Rolando – Knights Of The Jaguar
15. Ian Pooley – CompuRhythm
Vagabundos, the DJ, club and event collective from Lucianoʼs Cadenza stable, returns for its biggest year yet. Holding fort every Sunday at Ibizaʼs Pacha club over the last 3 years, as well as hugely successful events in London, Chile, Bucharest, New York, Tokyo, Naples and more, the Vagabundos parties have become the stuff of legend earning them numerous accolades of Best Ibiza Night and most recently (jointly with Richie Hawtinʼs Enter parties) by the Ibiza DJ Awards 2012.

And so the collective re-group for what promises to be a huge 12 months, and kickstarting it all is this double mix album from two of the Vagabundos DJs; Andrea Oliva and Argy. No stranger to the electronic music scene; Andrea Oliva has had a huge 12 months, with his profile ascend to dizzying heights with releases on Cadenza, Saved, Be As One and DJ Sneakʼs Magnetic, whilst Argy continues to shine with his pure house sounds appearing on Ibadan, Versatile, Dennis Ferrerʼs Objektivity and his own These Days label, the duo join together to mix a superb 2 hours plus of Vagabundos vibes.

Taking a disc each, Argy gets straight down to business, maintaining the energy already set by Oliva. A short intro from Richie Hawtinʼs Plastikman project paves the way for a bumpinʼ selection of music from the likes of Nathan Baratto, DJ Sneak and Radio Slave, always mixed with the assured, quick style that makes an Argy Dj set well worth the investment. As the mixes flow, the music gets decidedly tougher, showing Argyʼs techno sensibilities with tracks and remixes from heavyweights like Kink (the blissful breakbeats of his collaboration with Marc Romboy), Christian Smith, Robert Hood, Technasia and Argy himself, culminating in the rather beautiful DJ Sprinkles remix of Juneʼs ʻLost Areaʼ, before a ʻone last tuneʼ effort from the original 90s house of Harmony Funk.

Olivaʼs mix starts lightly with the deeper sounds of Shlomi Aber and quickly locks into a groove with some of the finest house music on the block from artists like Nick Curly, Dan Ghenecia, Todd Terry (under his House Of Gypsies guise) and Loco Dice. The pace doesnʼt drop for one minute, showcasing Olivaʼs always on point style, and dedication to a good groove. The mix builds to a crescendo of Olivaʼs own remix of Lucianos “Rise Of Angel” and into one of electronic musicʼs most classic contemporary pieces, the classic “Knights Of The Jaguar” by DJ Rolando.


Leave a comment