Wouter De Moor ‘DX Love’

 •  0


Artist: Wouter De Moor
Title: DX Love
Label: Underbelly Records
Cat. #: URWMD005
Release Date: 11-02-2013
T1/A1. Wouter De Moor – DX Love (Kris Wadsworth Zombie Surfer Remix)
T2/B1. Wouter De Moor – DX Love (Original)
T3/B2. Wouter De Moor – Clutter (Original)

Underbelly Records return this January with a three track EP from Dutch producer Wouter De Moor, entitled ‘DX Love’ and backed with a remix from Kris Wadsworth.

Wouter De Moor’s career has been steadily evolving since 2009 with releases on Bla Bla, Remote Area, Trapez and Paco Osuna’s Mindshake. De Moor’s association with these labels has led to a busy touring schedule, taking him across the globe to South Korea, China, Spain, London and the infamous Cocoon Club in Frankfurt. Underbelly Records launched in 2011 and the label has already released cuts from Maya Jane Coles, Alex Arnout, and Matt Tolfrey & Sam Russo, a sign of the attentive A&R approach of the labels founders.

‘DX Love (Kris Wadsworth’s Zombie Surfer Remix)’ opens the EP here and in true Wadsworth fashion embraces a raw, dubbed out Detroit vibe. Punchy drilling beats and underlying twisted melodies drive the track alongside a penetrating arpeggiated bass-line; the result is a moody, peak-time slow bloomer with a touch of class as expected from the Detroit master.

Next up is ‘DX Love (Original Mix), embracing a deep, dub-techno feel formed from tantalising frequencies and heavily delayed emotive chords. Weighty drums and a gritty rolling bass-line create the fundamental movement of the track while the melodic elements brilliantly meander around the rock-solid groove.

To close the release De Moor offers up ‘Clutter’, a groove led percussive track with a progressive feel. Warbling synth lines and sporadic vocal chops creep in and out of the structure alongside an infectious, hooky bass, while subtle filter and chorus modulation is applied intermittently to create an ever-evolving dynamic.

Wouter De Moor’s ‘DX Love’ EP is out on Underbelly Records 28th January 2013 (Vinyl) followed by a Beatport exclusive release on 11th February and 25th February (Digital) via all other online outlets.


Leave a comment