HAL (& Perm) ‘MASA006’

Artist: HAL (& Perm)
Title: MASA006
Label: MASA Series
Cat. #: MASA006
Format: Digital, vinyl
Release Date: 20.11.2023
01. HAL – Wittow
02. HAL & Perm – Xyloflux
03. HAL – Ujë Shiu
04. HAL – Omu
05. HAL & Perm – Tenure Track I
06. HAL – Loon Garden [Digital Bonus]

Buy link:

MASA Series is a Spanish vinyl and digital techno / electro label that has featured a variety of deep, IDM and acidic, analogue styles from the likes of Roger van Lunteren to up-and-coming talent.

MASA 006 delves into the wonderful sound of Leipzig resident HAL who has released on Inland aka Ed Davenport’s Counterchange Recordings and Detroit Underground amongst others.

The EP also includes two additional collaborations with his long-time friend and studio partner Perm who is an established producer in his own right with appearances on Uncanny Valley, Sungate and KANN.

It’s an elegant selection of tracks produced between 2018 and 2023, some of them recovered from long-lost hard drives and carefully remixed with the help of T I N’s keen ears.

An always-present groove, magnetic synth-scapes, and saturated ambience set the pace throughout the EP, while the warm and fuzzy sound makes for timeless joy, blending throbbing techno with deep house and dubby nuances, giving every beat a distinct texture.

“Wittow” is a deep and grooving vibe with tinkering hats and soul. “Xyloflux” is the first collaboration with Perm, that lifts the tempo and adds a jackin’ flavour. “Ujë Shiu” adds another twist to thed tale with delayed, hypnotic chords as the prominent hook. “Omu” is a pleasant and spaced-out track dripping in electronic emotion. “Tenure Track I” is the second HAL & Perm featured with a super sub bassline and metallic shuffling. Closing out is “Loon Garden” a delicate and joyful broken beat affair with quirky percussion and congas for good measure.

More info: