PACKSHOT Matrekaft - Action Reaction EP - Warehouse Music

Matrefakt ‘Action Reaction EP’

Artist: Matrefakt
Title: Action Reaction EP
Label: Warehouse Music
Cat. #: WM018
Format: Digital & Vinyl
Release Date: 18th March 2022
1. Action Reaction
2. Fix Penalty
3. Orderly Fashion
4. Typer Thing

Matrefakt make their first outing on Mella Dee’s Warehouse Music with four-track ‘Action Reaction’ EP.

Founded in 2017, Mella Dee’s burgeoning Warehouse Music imprint has quickly become a favourite for many, serving up quality cuts across digital and wax from talents such as Spencer Parker, Leo Pol, Dance System and Cici, alongside the label boss himself. Following a brief hiatus, the label unveils the first release of its 2022 schedule as Liverpool-based pairing Matrefakt make their label debut following support from leading names from Solomun and Joris Voorn through to Patrick Topping and Eats Everything. Fresh from releases on Shall Not Fade, Sous Music, and Of Unsound Mind, their four-track ‘Action Reaction’ EP showcases the duo’s own take on the various shades of house and techno.

Title cut ‘Action Reaction’ welcomes a slick and classy effort as ethereal lead synths soften incessant hats and metallic tones throughout, while ‘Fix Penalty’ showcases a groove-driven, rhythmic workout fusing dubby stabs etched with crisp claps. On the flip, ‘Orderly Fashion’ offers up a heady house cut built for the terrace as rolling organic drums meet hazy vocals and wiggy acid lines, before closing via late-night roller ‘Typer Thing’, armed with snappy drum licks and spiralling samples.