Artist: Brian Johnson
Title: That Culture (LP)
Label: Master Chef Music
Cat. #: MCM004
Format: Digital
Release Date: 3rd March 2022

Sometime Drake, Mos Def, and Barrington Levy collaborator Brian Johnson drops debut house LP ‘That Culture’ on his Master Chef Music imprint this March.

World-renowned audio engineer and Core Recording Studios co-founder Brian Johnson is known for his broad take on the deeper side of house music. Hot on the heels of his ‘That Culture Remixes’ release which saw support from Laurent Garnier, Fred P and Skream, Johnson’s debut LP explores house, soul, techno, dub and beyond and includes a continuous mix of the 15 track release.

‘Internal Intro’ blissfully launches ‘That Culture’ as silky, ambient pads carry fluttering female vocals before taking a U-Turn with ‘State Property’, casting a more foreboding sound boasting devilish basslines, emotive synths, and abrupt hats. ‘Industry Clones’ utilises convulsive keys and driving percussion as otherworldly harp samples dance around timely echoes and lasers.

Brooding low-ends shape warped, synth-driven cuts ‘We Kept Running’ and ‘Polyandry’ where ethereal tones take front and centre, before transitioning into the glistening soundscapes of ‘The Open Sea’ and ‘An Old Fashion’. Here, floating harmonies and shimmering hats are juxtaposed with a dark, punchy bassline. The angelic vocals of Renee Wynter take hold of ‘Rainy Daze’ ahead of the machine-driven ‘Don’t Jynx the Sphinx’, offering up a bass-heavy assault on the senses.

Renee Wynter retakes the spotlight across tantalising vocal cut ‘Round & Round’, easing into the dreamlike techno-infused sonics of ‘Floating in the Mirror’ and ‘Liquid Fiyah’. The dubbed-out ‘Sound Test’ returns to moodier territories as chasmic basslines, twisted samples and stirring vocals provide a memorable finale to the project.

1)  Internal Intro
2)  State Property
3)  Industry Clones
4)  We Kept Running
5)  Polyandry
6)  The Open Season
7)  Effective Treatment
8)  Geyser
9)  An Old Fashion
10)  Rainy Daze ft. Renee Wynter
11)  Don’t Jynx The Sphinx
12)  Round & Round ft. Renee Wynter
13)  Floating In the Mirror
14)  Liquid Fiyah
15)  Sound Test
16)  That Culture (Continuous Mix)