Artist: Izan Cramer
Title: Barcelona Metropolitan Sound
Label: Combine Audio
Cat. #: COMBINE064
Format: Digital
Release Date: 10.05.2024
01. Jardins de Joan Brossa
02. Jardins de Joan Brossa (Paula Cazenave Vocal Remix)
03. Jardins de Joan Brossa (Paula Cazenave Dub Remix)
04. El Carmel
05. El Carmel (Michel Lauriola Remix)
06. Moog Your Body
07. Moog Your Body (Fran LF Remix)
08. Plaza de Espanya
09. Plaza de Espanya (Israel Toledo Remix)
10. 08030
11. 08030 (Finalversion3 Remix)

Buy link:

Combine Audio is a Barcelona-based techno imprint launched by Paula Cazenave in 2017 that has featured music and remixes from artists like Ben Sims, Ken Ishii, DJ Rush, and Jeroen Search.

Izan Cramer is a Spanish artist bubbling from the Barcelona underground known for his Kraneal parties with Ben Sims, Chris Liberator, Perc and David Meiser. As a producer his quality sound can be heard on H.Paul’s Induxtriall, Xelima and ASS3 as he debuts on Combine Audio with this exciting extended package.

Stepping up on the EP is a remix from label boss Paula Cazenave who is a regular DJ at many clubs around Spain plus other parts of Europe, and her productions can be found outside of Combine Audio on labels like Ben Sims’ Symbolism, Marco Faraone’s UNCAGE, A.Paul’s Naked Lunch and Pushmann’s N&N Records.

Michel Lauriola is an Argentina-based artist who has released his trippy and twisted tracks on Bas Mooy’s Mord, Edit Select Records, Slam’s Soma, Developer’s Modularz, and Lewis Fautzi’s Faut Section.

Amsterdam’s Fran LF is an Italian born producer who has been racking up well-received self released EPs as well as appearing on Xelima Records and Tzunami.

Israel Toledo relocated to Germany from Mexico and the Assassin Soldier Recordings owner lists tracks for Hans Bouffmyhre’s Sleaze, Lex Gorrie’s Unknown Territory, Schwung Music and returns to Combine Audio on remix duty.

Finalversion3 is a superb Spanish artist making waves for his releases on Coyu’s Suara, Fernanda Martins’ Devotion, Joton’s Newrhythmic and Subsist.

Starting off with “Jardins de Joan Brossa,” it focuses on a deep and grooving style, with a rubbery bassline and vocal elements for extra impact. Paula Cazenave supplies two new versions of “Jardins de Joan Brossa” adding a warm, gritty and hypnotic sound to the original and making one a dub.

The second original from Izan Cramer is titled “El Carmel” and it shows another side to his production skills by using a cyclical hook, skittering percussion and spacey background textures before a dreamy synth lights the way. Michel Lauriola takes “El Carmel” into a darker place with a crunching, machine-like sound design and a powerful vibe.

“Moog Your Body” begins with a subtle but jackin’ rhythm and muted tones as the vocal sample turns it into a hardgroove style workout with simmering energy. Fran LF injects a bubbling bassline to his “Moog Your Body” remix, as well as abstract synth stabs transporting it into a new realm.

“Plaza de Espanya” is the fourth original track with a classic techno sound of harmonic chords and a uptempo, dance floor sound. The “Plaza de Espanya” remix by Israel Toledo adds more layers of rolling percussion and a new sense of vitality.

Closing out the LP is “08030” with its sweeping synths, well-timed claps and analogue intensity from the throbbing sub bass. The final track is a remix of “08030” by Finalversion3 who flips the original’s style to a breakbeat-inspired session of engulfing effects and catchy rhythms.