Karyendasoul ‘WL4OM’

Artist: Karyendasoul
Title: WL4OM (We Live 4 Our Music)
Label: Mayonie Productions
Cat. #: MP10
Format: Digital
Release Date: 7th April 2023

South African house pioneer Karyendasoul serves up his debut album, WL4OM (We Live 4 Our Music) this April.

Karyendasoul hails from a small town in the Eastern Cape Province and soon started making moves after his first tune in 2016. He was picked out by Kenny Dope to be included on the Dopewax Approved compilation for ADE and since then has taken Afro house to new heights on labels like Defected’s Sondela Recordings. He has collaborated with Black Coffee and had tune of the week on Apple Music. 2022 saw him release his biggest project to date, the ‘Imizamo EP’ on Mayonie Productions. This release debut at number 1 on Apple Music with the lead single ‘iMali’ in collaboration with Grammy award winner Zakes Bantwini & Nana Atta reaching platinum status and enjoyed 5 weeks at number 1 on South African radio charts. His debut album finds him collaborating with a range of talents and is a superb window into his unique take on house music.

‘WL4OM’ kicks off with the title track, a collaboration with Bokkieult featuring the beautiful voice of Sai hle. The song gets straight to your heart as the soaring vocals ring out with angelic charm over deep and shuffling Afro house. ‘Waves of Mercy’ with Miči is a sublime six-minute slow burner that builds through cosmic ambient pads and silky vocals. The drums grow more prominent throughout as the spiritual mood sweeps you off your feet. ‘Umthandazo‘ with Ami Faku again shows off Karyendasoul’s deft production skills with elegant drum sounds and rich synths topped off by the sort of vocals that melt the soul.

‘Something More’ featuring Jordan Arts has intimate vocal whispers over icy hi hats and house grooves peppered with delicate percussion as the wispy synths bring a sense of tenderness. Karyendasoul & Simmy’s ‘Mngani wami’ then reaches new heights with a spine-tingling mix of lithe rhythms, starry melodies and shimmering vocals sent from the heavens. The same delightfully uplifting and warm vocal Afro sounds continue through ‘Umoya’ with Zakes Bantwini then his ‘Fragile’ track with Mići is one of sheer melodic beauty as the cascading keys rain down over steely. ‘Jacaranda’ with Msaki brings the positive and uplifting vibes whilst ‘Juba’ with Sykes delivers more inspired and cosmic Afro house soul. Karyendasoul’s solo cut ‘The Chosen One’ closes down the album with nine deeply intense drums and spiritual synth motifs backed by increasingly upright snares and empowering energy.

The magnificently emotional rollercoaster that is WL4OM (We Live 4 Our Music) will take Karyendasoul and his unique Afro house sounds truly global.


1. Karyendasoul & Bokkieult ft Sai hle – WL40M
2. Karyendasoul & Miči – Waves of Mercy
3. Karyendasoul & Ami Faku – Umthandazo
4. Karyendasoul & Jordan Arts – Something More
5. Karyendasoul & Simmy – Mngani wami
6. Karyendasoul & Zakes Bantwini – Umoya
7. Karyendasoul & Mići – Fragile
8. Karyendasoul & Msaki – Jacaranda
9. Karyendasoul & Sykes – Juba
10. Karyendasoul – The Chosen One