Photographer Alexander Sylte

LAFT ‘New Objectivity LP’

Artist: LAFT
Title: New Objectivity LP
Label: badabing diskos
Cat. #: badabing01lp
Release Date: 03.03.2023
1. Spruce
2. Elm
3. Ash
4. Birch
5. Maple
6. Oak
7. Willow
8. Hazel
9. Pine feat. Arcoe

Norway-based duo LAFT serve up ‘New Objectivity’, a thrilling album of live house music with a signature Scandi-twist on the excellent badabing diskos label.

World-renowned percussionist and formally trained jazz master Tomas Järmyr (from groups like Motorpsycho, Årabrot and Pantha Du Prince’s The Bell Laboratory) and acoustic rave engineer Håkon Vinnogg (aka label founder Vinny Villbass) are LAFT. Together they seek to explore functional dance floor communication built around unique improvisations. Their structural and compelling sound is carefully composed and expertly performed with real musicianship and thrilling rhythms at its core. Järmyr brings a decade+ of live music experience having played all over the world and featured on more than 50 records while Vinnogg is known for his exceptional groove and timing as a result of 25 years behind the decks and releases on Trunkfunk, Beatservice and Eskimo Recordings.

The mystic sounds of ‘Spruce’ open up as a playful and suggestive house rhythm is overlaid with gorgeous percussive sounds and impish synth spirits that dart amongst the beats. ‘Elm’ then lays down a rolling, dubby groove full of reverb and bubbling synths that sink you in deep. The album plays out with the narrative of a DJ set as ‘Ash’ ups the ante with hints of the party to come. The shuffling drums are warmed through with diffuse chords and cosmic patterns that erupt into jazzy and dancing keys. There is a hint of old school but through a modern disco-house lens on the brilliant ‘Birch’ with its lively drums and persuasive leads, then ‘Maple’ is as syrupy as the title suggests thanks to slower tempos and rich, sticky bass synths.

The luxurious, melody-rich sounds continue with ‘Oak’ – a roomy cut with a frazzled bassline that allows you to stare in wonder at the eco-system of colourful sounds all around you. ‘Willow’ offers a trippy vibe with its creepy chords and drippy leads while ‘Hazel’ layers up house drums with conversational synths, pixelated keys and delightful cosmic energy. The whole wonderful journey comes to a close with ‘Pine’, a future classic house cut with meticulous melodies by multi instrumentalist Arcoe on keys.

‘New Objectivity’ is packed with richly arranged house music that brims with vibrant and life-affirming melodies.