PACKSHOT Makuto - Invisible EP - Arketip Discs

Makuto ‘Invisible EP’

Artist: Makuto
Title: Invisible EP
Remixer: Truncate
Label: Arketip Discs
Cat. #: AD003
Format: Vinyl (300 copies) / Digital
Release Date: 14th May 2021

  1. Foscor
  2. Invisible
  3. Pulsació 101
  4. Pulsació 101 (Truncate Remix)

Arketip Discs boss Makuto returns to his home imprint this May as he delivers his latest EP, ‘Invisible’, backed by a remix from West Coast techno favourite Truncate.

Launched in 2018 and distributed by Lobster Distribution, Spanish imprint Arketip Discs looks set to become a label to watch and an imprint on the rise as they bring their warping, driving take on house and techno to lovers of the genres across the world. With early support from leading figures such as Laurent Garnier, DVS1, Serge, and Ben Sims to name just a few, mid-May welcomes the arrival of the label’s third release as co-founder Makuto steps up and delivers three fresh, original cuts in the form of his latest EP ‘Invisible’, accompanied by a remix from Los Angeles-based DJ and producer, Truncate.

Opening track ‘Foscor’ welcomes precise kicks, stuttering toms, and scintillating pads and deep, driving percussion rhythms build a gritty techno cut, whilst title track ‘Invisible’ delivers a dark, ominous aesthetic with distorted hi-hats and sharp, mutating elastic lines glued together by a low sub-groove that punches through across several breaks.

Next, ‘Pulsació 101’ welcomes fast, acid-charged melodies alongside swinging grooves and cyclical evolving synths to build a heavy slice of dancefloor tension, before rounding out proceedings via Truncate’s typically slick remix of the track – introducing a clap-heavy club weapon armed with impactful drums and icy snares to reveal a deep, raw and powerful techno tool and peak-time anthem to wrap things up in style.