Cover Metropolitan Soul Museum - Floaters EP - 1400x1400px

Metropolitan Soul Museum ‘Floaters EP’

Artist: Metropolitan Soul Museum
Title: Floaters EP
Remixer: Iron Curtis
Label: Cuore Records
Cat. #: CR2007MSM
Format: Digital
Release Date: 10th September 2020 (Beatport) / 24th September 2020 (All Stores)

  1. Floaters
  2. Floaters (Iron Curtis Remix)
  3. Birdland
  4. The Unexpected Return

London pair Metropolitan Soul Museum land on Cuore with another of their fully formed EPs, this time with a remix from Iron Curtis. 

This London based duo is made up of Nick of Akra, and Filippo, who first linked up in 2015 and have released an array of outstanding records including the standout ‘Tesla’ EP on Toy Tonics. The pair make melodic electronic music which encourages you to dream which has found favour with an array of established names such as Tom Trago, Chaos in the CBD, Detroit Swindle and Roman Fluegel.

This lush new EP kicks off with ‘Floaters’ a deep but heavy track with rich bass and a fine lead melody that takes you on an inward journey. It’s subtle but impactful and filled with style. Iron Curtis is a long time underground talent who releases on cult labels like Smallville and runs Achterbahn D’Amour with his longtime friend Jool aka Edit Piafra. His version on ‘Floaters’ is rock solid, with chunky kicks and scattered claps getting you in a deep state of trance while the delicate vocal sounds pan around the mix next to a rousing lead.

The next brilliant original is ‘Birdland’ which is an intelligent, Detroit inspired track of melodic, rhythmic, syncopated deep techno that really sings. Lastly, ‘The Unexpected Return’ is a hugely atmospheric and beautifully peaceful ambient track with gorgeous synth arps to close out a cultured EP.

Original artwork from in house designer Cabba.