Krewcial ‘Motherland EP’

Artist: Krewcial
Title: Motherland EP
Label: Heist Recordings
Cat. #: HEIST071
Format: Digital
Release Date: 19th May 2023
A1 Owo
A2 Wahala Dey feat. Nimiwari
B1 Kitoko
B2 Ghana Groove

Krewcial delivers the four-track ‘Motherland EP’ for Dam Swindle’s Heist Recordings.

Over the course of his career, Krewcial has built up an impressive resume with a solo album on BBE and floor-stomping tracks on We Play House and G.A.M.M. His mixture of organic sounds and jazz-funk movements now informs his debut on Dam Swindle’s imprint, exploring different variations of African funk and electronic edge in ‘Motherland EP’. The release sees Krewcial collaborate with a full live band of musicians and singers from Kenya, Nigeria, and Argentina, to pay tribute to the rhythms and grooves of Africa.

The contemplative vocals on the ‘Motherland EP “Owo” discuss the meaning of true wealth, accompanied by afrobeat funk, and playful brass in one body of work. “Wahala Dey” with Nimiwari sees all kinds of West African influences come together for a loose-limbed groove while, “Kitoko” and “Ghanagroove” are equally inspiring, full of rich percussive improvisation, funk-laden guitar licks, and dusty horns, showcasing not just the songwriting talent of Krewcial, but also his talent to bring the right people together and simply have a great time recording music from the soul.