PACKSHOT Marcellus - Reeces Pieces - Hottrax

Marcellus ‘Reeces Pieces’

Artist: Marcellus
Title: Reeces Pieces
Label: Hottrax
Cat. #: HXT085
Format: Digital
Release Date: 13th May 2022
1) Reeces Pieces
2) Reputation
3) Wild
4) 2003

Marcellus makes his Hottrax debut this May with ‘Reeces Pieces’.

London-born DJ & producer Marcellus has had a bountiful 12 months, dropping flavours across Elrow, Relief and Deeperfect and grabbing the attention of Dennis Cruz, Michael Bibi and Jamie Jones. Now, the UK talents’ beats land on Jones’ Hottrax for the first time in the shape of his weighty four-track EP ‘Reeces Pieces’.

“This EP was made by experimenting with different sounds in lockdown that I haven’t used before, real funk elements in Reputation, & also Reeces & 2003 inspired by Drum & Bass!” – Marcellus

Ghostly pads float over snaking percussion in the fibrous lead track ‘Reeces Pieces’ as male and female vocals battle it out over a brooding bassline, before ‘Reputation’ brings the funk with slappy strings, jazzy motifs and deep tones. Next, ‘Wild’ takes no prisoners with pounding low-ends and sassy, loopy lyrics alongside twisted samples, ahead of the swung closing track ‘2003’ harnessing convulsing synths and crescendoing drumrolls as a fitting finale for this dynamic EP.