The Groove Room ‘Apheck’s Groove EP’

Artist: The Groove Room
Title: Apheck’s Groove EP
Label: Manual Smiles
Cat. #: MANUAL002
Format: Digital
Release Date: 7th July 2023
01 Sit Back
02 Apheck’s Groove

Manual Smiles announces a nostalgic techno two-tracker by The Groove Room
Support from I. Jordan, HAAi, Physical Therapy, Truncate, Luke Slater & more…

Kickdrums slam through restless organic rhythm in ‘Sit Back’, distorted synths crashing onto its groove while acidic techno stabs rear their head throughout. The title track then submerges, serpentine 303s venturing through its aquatic pads and deep, dubbed-out hits, a nostalgic vocal beckoning to the surface.

The Groove Room consists of Jack and Jordan, two impassioned techno producers honing their take on percussive techno from their Manchester studio: an excellent blend of retro sampling, tribal grooves and modern sound design. ‘Apheck’s Groove’ on n_o‘s fledgling Manual Smiles imprint is a true statement of intent from the duo, showcasing their vision in a gritty, funky and playful form.