Various  ‘Consortium Vol. 2’

Artist: Various
Title: Consortium Vol. 2
Label: Motech Records
Cat. #: MT140
Format: Digital Download / Streaming
Release Date: 18 December 2020
01. Elyas – ‘Operator’
02. Rob StrobE – ‘Shifty’
03. Nicolson – ‘House Life’
04. Miles Ellis – ‘Jack The Beat’
05. Mikael Klasson – ‘Lonely Underground’
06. Petit Beurre – ‘Rooftop’
07. Jeran Portis – ‘Por La Noche’
08. George Cross – ‘On One’
09. Atomyard – ‘Antimatter’
10. Veronique Page – ‘The Moon & The Stars’

“Where were you in 2020?”, you sense will be a question that will remain a talking point for many generations to come. One lesson we have all learned is life goes on, exemplified by resilient Motech Records boss Franki Juncaj aka DJ 3000, who once again plays A&R supremo in handpicking the track list for Motech’s end of year compilation, ‘Consortium Vol. 2’ which doubles up as a critics choice of the best unheard Detroit techno of tomorrow.

As we’ve come to expect from the veteran Motech boss, artist and tastemaker, the compilation embraces all facets of Detroit techno expressed through artists both familiar and new to the scene. “The concept was to find new artists, not only because they’re fresh but because they’re making hot, timeless tracks”.

The complication kicks off in frenetic style with the energetic track, ‘Operator’ from French techno artist Elyas. Motech regulars Mikael Klasson and Veronique Page make triumphant re-appearances on the label after extended absences. Veronique Page creates a slick intelligent minimal vibe on the dreamy track ‘The Moon and the Stars’, while Klasson’s track ‘Lonely Underground’ burns bright in the darkness of dystopia. Another familiar Motech artist is Austrian duo Petit Beurre who return to drop their track ‘Rooftop’, doing what they do best by creating wavy, utopian Detroit techno. Meanwhile, Motech veteran Jeran Portis also features with the driving groove of ‘Por La Noche’. Add Germany’s Robert Hauck aka Rob StrobE to deliver a textural techno stomper with the brilliant track ‘Shifty’. The UK is represented in the shape of artist Nicholson, after an impressive Motech debut last year. He returns with this ‘90s house influenced banger, ‘House Life’, alongside another UK artist who makes his debut on the label, George Cross, with the delightfully twisted chords of ‘On One’. Hailing from closer to home is Miami based artist Atomyard, with ‘Antimatter’. Atomyard delivers a lusty techno track with a powerful bassline and a strong energetic pulse. Finally US based artist Miles Ellis debuts with ‘Jack the Beat’, a track that echoes the classic underground rave sounds of the mid ‘90s. Ellis adds, “I want to harness the essence of the rave days without phones, the days with straight raw music with soul and heart, the days with getting down and not giving a f**k with your friends and enjoying the night like it was your last!”

Now isn’t that everything we ever wanted from the Detroit techno Industry? Motech Records provides it here in abundance. All we need now are the dance floors… 2021 we can’t wait.

‘Consortium Vol. 2’ is available on Motech via all digital and streaming platforms from 18 December.